Waiting on Wednesday - The Last Time We Say Goodbye

2
COMMENTS

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine where we post upcoming releases we're highly anticipating. My pre-publication selection for this week's Waiting on Wednesday is The Last Time We Say Goodbye by Cynthia Hand.

The Last Time We Say Goodbye
by Cynthia Hand
Series: Standalone
Released on: February 10th, 2015
Published by: HarperTeen
Waited on by: Mel

Add to Goodreads

There's death all around us.
We just don't pay attention.
Until we do.

The last time Lex was happy, it was before. When she had a family that was whole. A boyfriend she loved. Friends who didn't look at her like she might break down at any moment.

Now she's just the girl whose brother killed himself. And it feels like that's all she'll ever be.

As Lex starts to put her life back together, she tries to block out what happened the night Tyler died. But there's a secret she hasn't told anyone-a text Tyler sent, that could have changed everything.

Lex's brother is gone. But Lex is about to discover that a ghost doesn't have to be real to keep you from moving on.

From New York Times bestselling author Cynthia Hand, The Last Time We Say Goodbye is a gorgeous and heart-wrenching story of love, loss, and letting go.

Review - A Midsummer's Nightmare by Kody Keplinger

1
COMMENT

A Midsummer's Nightmare
by Kody Keplinger
Series: Standalone
Released on: June 5th, 2012
Published by: Poppy
Rating: 3 stars
Word rating: Fun but a tad derivative
Reviewed by: Ellis

Add to Goodreads

Whitley Johnson's dream summer with her divorcé dad has turned into a nightmare. She's just met his new fiancée and her kids. The fiancée's son? Whitley's one-night stand from graduation night. Just freakin' great.

Worse, she totally doesn't fit in with her dad's perfect new country-club family. So Whitley acts out. She parties. Hard. So hard she doesn't even notice the good things right under her nose: a sweet little future stepsister who is just about the only person she's ever liked, a best friend (even though Whitley swears she doesn't "do" friends), and a smoking-hot guy who isn't her stepbrother...at least, not yet. It will take all three of them to help Whitley get through her anger and begin to put the pieces of her family together.

Filled with authenticity and raw emotion, Whitley is Kody Keplinger's most compelling character to date: a cynical Holden Caulfield-esque girl you will wholly care about.

Review - Love, Rosie by Cecelia Ahern

1
COMMENT

Love, Rosie
by Cecelia Ahern
Series: Standalone
Released on: November 8th, 2004
Published by: Harper Collins
Rating: 3 stars
Word rating: The ultimate feel-good read
Reviewed by: Ellis

Add to Goodreads

Since childhood, Rosie and Alex have stuck by each other through thick and thin. But they're suddenly separated when Alexx and his family move from Dublin to America.

Their magical connection remains but can their friendship survive the years and miles?

Misunderstandings, circumstances and sheer bad luck have kept them apart – until now. But will they gamble everything – including their friendship – on true love? And what twists and surprises does fate have in store for them this time?

Review + Giveaway: Don't Touch by Rachel M. Wilson

25
COMMENTS

Don't Touch
by Rachel M. Wilson
Series: None
Released on: September 2nd, 2014
Publisher: HarperTeen
Rating: 4.5 stars
Word Rating: Truly TOUCHing (Yes I know, I'm hilarious)
Reviewed by: Mel

Add to Goodreads

A powerful story of a girl who is afraid to touch another person’s skin, until the boy auditioning for Hamlet opposite her Ophelia gives her a reason to overcome her fears.

Step on a crack, break your mother’s back. Touch another person’s skin, and Dad’s gone for good.

Caddie can’t stop thinking that if she keeps from touching another person’s skin, her parents might get back together... which is why she wears full-length gloves to school and covers every inch of her skin.

It seems harmless at first, but Caddie’s obsession soon threatens her ambitions as an actress. She desperately wants to play Ophelia in her school’s production of Hamlet. But that would mean touching Peter, who’s auditioning for the title role—and kissing him. Part of Caddie would love nothing more than to kiss Peter—but the other part isn't sure she's brave enough to let herself fall.

Perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson, this debut novel from Rachel M. Wilson is a moving story of a talented girl who's fighting an increasingly severe anxiety disorder, and the friends and family who stand by her.

Waiting on Wednesday - Hellhole by Gina Damico

1
COMMENT

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine where we post upcoming releases we're highly anticipating. My pre-publication selection for this week's Waiting on Wednesday is Hellhole by Gina Damico.


Hellhole
Gina Damico
Series: Standalone?
Released: January 6th, 2015
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Waited on by: Ellis

Add to Goodreads

A devil is a bad influence . . .

There was a time when geeky, squeaky-clean Max Kilgore would never lie or steal or even think about murder. Then he accidentally unearths a devil, and Max’s choices are no longer his own. The big red guy has a penchant for couch surfing and junk food—and you should never underestimate evil on a sugar high.

With the help of Lore, a former goth girl who knows a thing or two about the dark side, Max is racing against the clock to get rid of the houseguest from hell before time, and all the Flamin’ Hot Cheetos this side of the fiery abyss, run out.

Gina Damico, author of the Croak series, once again delivers all the horror, hilarity, and high-stakes drama that any kid in high school or hell could ever handle.


Review: Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins

6
COMMENTS

Rebel Belle
by Rachel Hawkins
Series: Rebel Belle, #1
Released on: April 8th, 2014
Publisher: Putnam Juvenille
Rating: 3 stars
Word Rating: Perfectly fun
Reviewed by: Mel

Add to Goodreads

Harper Price, peerless Southern belle, was born ready for a Homecoming tiara. But after a strange run-in at the dance imbues her with incredible abilities, Harper's destiny takes a turn for the seriously weird. She becomes a Paladin, one of an ancient line of guardians with agility, super strength and lethal fighting instincts.

Just when life can't get any more disastrously crazy, Harper finds out who she's charged to protect: David Stark, school reporter, subject of a mysterious prophecy and possibly Harper's least favorite person. But things get complicated when Harper starts falling for him—and discovers that David's own fate could very well be to destroy Earth.

With snappy banter, cotillion dresses, non-stop action and a touch of magic, this new young adult series from bestseller Rachel Hawkins is going to make y'all beg for more.

#IslaIsComing Tour Stop: Lola Nolan's "Bag"

10
COMMENTS
GUYS GUYS GUYS GUYS Isla is (officially) coming out TOMORROW. Can you believe it? Because this is clearly one of the most anticipated books in the entire blogosphere and beyond, this quintet of fantastic ladies known as Meg, Judith, Jamie, Lindsey and Andi took the amazing initiative of Isla Is Coming. I'm sure you've heard of it somewhere. More details on the entire ordeal here




Finding Bliss in Books has the honour of closing out Lola week, which is excellent because it's my (Ellis) favourite book. Full disclosure: I haven't read Isla yet so anything is possible, really. For all things Lola, and some seriously fabulous shoes, check out the Lola kick-off post

If you've read Lola, you know she's just this teensy bit obsessed with what's going on in Cricket's room. One such moment, for instance:

His curtains are still open, and his bags are still on his floor. I’ve been strangely fascinated by the shoulder bag. It’s an old, brown leather satchel, the kind that should be worn by a university professor or a jungle explorer. I wonder what’s in it. Probably just a toothbrush and a change of underwear. 



For all the curious souls out there, this happens after the HORRIBLY EMOTIONAL RECORD SHOP RUN-IN. 

Ahem.

So we started wondering: what would be in Lola Nolan's bag/purse/handheld accessory of the day? Here's a tentative, obviously non-exhaustive list of LNNs (Lola Nolan necessities) Blythe and I came up with. Feel free to add anything you think is Lola crucial!